Behind the Scenes: Questions for Marian Matheson
By Jennifer Potanka ’11, Staff Writer
What is your position at the College?

My job is doing policy research for the College in various forms: comparative, historical, modeling and data gathering and analysis.

What does a typical day at work entail?

I get to work with people from all over the college, so I hardly have a typical day.

How many years have you worked at Amherst?

I’ve been at Amherst for six years.

What positions did you hold before Amherst? Prior to Amherst, I was an Associate Provost at Columbia University. I’ve also worked at Tufts, Pfeiffer and SUNY.

What is your family like?

I have a wonderful family; my partner of 10 years, Pam, and an eight-year-old daughter. Pam teaches statistics at Mt. Holyoke.

Do you have any pets?

We have a few pets: two dogs (a boxer and a “beaglehound” we adopted from the Dakin shelter), a leopard gecko and a turtle.

Do you have a daily routine before work?

Before work I take my dogs for a long walk, take my daughter to school and try to get to the gym.

What about after work?

After work I focus on my family and home.

How did you end up in Amherst?

I wanted to work at a great liberal arts college. I already loved the Valley and was thrilled to be able to put those two together.

Do you have a favorite Val meal?

I rarely go to Val, but when I do I enjoy the pizza and a salad.

What is your favorite thing about working at Amherst College?

My favorite thing about Amherst is working with the wonderfully creative and dynamic mix of people.

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in the greater New York City area. I lived in Manhattan for the 12 years that I was at Columbia, but I have also lived in some incredibly rural parts of North Carolina and upper New York state.

What is your favorite place in the world?

My favorite place in the world is the outer banks of North Carolina.

Who is one person (past or present) you wish you could to meet?

President Obama.

What is your favorite hobby or activity?

I like to play golf and coach my daughter’s little league team. I love to cook for my family and friends. I like to draw. I like taking care of my dogs.

What is your favorite memory of being at Amherst?

I had a great group of friends in college. It would be fun to have one of those carefree nights with them again.

Issue 21, Submitted 2010-04-07 00:14:29