Indoor Track Ready, Set to Go
By Carlyn Robertson '14, Sports Section Editor
After stellar performances last year, the men’s and women’s indoor track teams are expecting strong relay and individual efforts in the coming season. The Jeffs will showcase their speed, endurance and strength in a season-opening meet at Smith College this Saturday.


The women’s team lost strong individual and relay runners, but welcomes a solid first-year class. High jumper Nora Gayer, jumper and hurdler Naomi Bates, sprinters Beth Hall, Shyloe Jones and Jaya Tripathi all join the ranks, along with middle and long distance runners Bridget Bennet, Angie Epifano, Jasia Kaulbach, Brooke Kirkham and Tory Sosnowski.

Junior tri-captain Melissa Sullivan finished fourth in the indoor championships in the mile last year with all-American honors, and looks to build on that success this season. Sophomore Lauren Almeida and junior Eliza Schalch round out the middle-distance group while sophomores Ali Simeone, Keri Lambert and Sarah Daly lead the distance runners. The steeplechase group will rely on the talent of returning seniors tri-captain Christina Wong and Hallie Schwab, junior Laura Zaccagnino and sophomores Abby Hopper, Kristen Moulton, Elodie Reed. Rounding out relay teams are sprinters and hurdlers captain Susie Wasserman ’11 and classmate Zoe Pagonis. This year’s throwers are Jordan Roehl ’12 and Chi Uwakaneme ’11.


Following one of program’s best seasons to date, the men’s team graduated a big group of experienced runners and leaders, but returns plenty of talent as well. Seniors Will Yochum and tri-captain Steve Corsello, both all-Americans in the 1500-meter, will be looking for national titles in individual events. Ben Sheetz ’12 will also be aiming for national honors after strong performances in the 400-meter and 800-meter events last year. Senior long-jumper Thebe Tstastimpe earned all-American honors after walking onto the team last year and should be a national contender as well. The record-breaking 4x400 relay returns all four runners, who hope to beat their current record and entertain all-American hopes.

The team’s sprinters, led by senior tri-captains Andre Gary and Tommy Moore, include Tstastimpe, Andrew Reed ’12, Ryan Drost ’11, Sean Legister ’11, Thomas Matthews ’13 and Landrus Lewis ’13, and are joined by freshman Javier Paulino.

Matt Melton ‘14 is expected to run strong in the 400- and 800- meter races. First-year middle-distance runners Gus Greenstein, Kevin Heintz, Alvaro Morales and Joe Nassirian join sophomores Patrick Grimes and Adron Pitmon. Seniors Travis Cohoon and John McGrail, and sophomores Andrew Erskine and Dillon Buckley will be leading the Jeffs in the middle-distance events. Senior Chris Eaton leads the throwers this year while striving for school records in the weight and hammer. Sophomore Denzel Duncan will also look to improve upon his throws from last season.

Issue 10, Submitted 2010-12-01 05:21:55